Like/Tweet/+1
Latest topics
» Old Film Trailers (to 2009)
by Sary Today at 0:18

» Marble head of Dionysus discovered under Rome
by Sary Yesterday at 23:49

» Beautiful Feminine Art
by OsricPearl Yesterday at 4:02

» Song Cover-Versions & Originals
by Sary Tue 18 Jun - 1:15

» UK Migration Issues
by Neon Knight Mon 17 Jun - 20:19

» Now listening to . . .
by Neon Knight Sat 15 Jun - 0:48

» Opinions on National Identity by Country
by OsricPearl Thu 13 Jun - 5:00

» Denmark's New Government
by Sary Thu 13 Jun - 0:27

» Favourite Film & TV Scenes
by Neon Knight Wed 12 Jun - 23:03

» The genetic argument against race - how good is it?
by Neon Knight Tue 11 Jun - 0:15

» Rise of Nationalist Parties in Europe
by Neon Knight Fri 7 Jun - 23:24

» WWII bomb in London
by OsricPearl Wed 5 Jun - 17:37

» Tommy Robinson
by Neon Knight Mon 27 May - 23:10

» I'm moving
by Sary Mon 27 May - 22:39

» Personality traits linked to political orientation
by Neon Knight Mon 27 May - 8:56

» The Englishmen with African Y-DNA
by Neon Knight Sun 26 May - 19:03

» Vampires
by OsricPearl Sun 26 May - 3:26

» Social Perception of Skin Colour in Japan
by OsricPearl Sun 26 May - 3:24

» Classic TV Theme Music
by Neon Knight Wed 22 May - 23:11

» Screening prisoners for brain injuries could cut re-offending
by Sary Sat 18 May - 12:46

» Animals - News & General
by Neon Knight Thu 16 May - 22:42

» Rainbows in European Mythology
by Sary Mon 22 Apr - 17:48

» What is your religion or phylosophical moral code?
by Sary Thu 18 Apr - 23:14

» Brexit Saga Update
by Neon Knight Fri 12 Apr - 22:53

» What do the Irish think of the English?
by Neon Knight Tue 9 Apr - 23:40

» UK: 'feral kids overrun drug-ridden jails'
by OsricPearl Mon 8 Apr - 3:46

» Science Knowledge Quiz
by Sary Wed 3 Apr - 1:01

» Germany's AfD Party
by Neon Knight Tue 2 Apr - 17:13

» 24 genes linked to wealth
by OsricPearl Fri 29 Mar - 16:14

» Mexican President Demands Reparations
by OsricPearl Thu 28 Mar - 2:22

» New Genetic Study of Iberians
by OsricPearl Tue 26 Mar - 15:31

» The Marrakesh Migration Declaration / Pact
by Neon Knight Mon 18 Mar - 21:28

» Christchurch Massacre - Right Wing Extremism
by OsricPearl Sat 16 Mar - 18:41

» Political Systems
by OsricPearl Mon 11 Mar - 2:57

» Monty Python Scenes & Sketches
by Neon Knight Sat 9 Mar - 21:15

» Why the paranormal is probably real
by Sary Sat 9 Mar - 15:42

» Classic TV Adverts
by Neon Knight Fri 1 Mar - 22:38

» My strange Phenotype
by Neon Knight Fri 1 Mar - 0:50

» Finland, Luxembourg & Ireland worst for anti-black harassment
by OsricPearl Thu 28 Feb - 14:45

» Language Test for Political Type
by OsricPearl Mon 25 Feb - 4:30


Why is 'classification' so popular in anthro forums?

Reply to topic

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Why is 'classification' so popular in anthro forums? Empty Why is 'classification' so popular in anthro forums?

Post Neon Knight on Wed 13 Sep - 22:11

It looks to me, that for a general/cultural forum to thrive it must have a section on 'classification'. This is where members are invited to view photos of individuals and, by studying their facial features, ascertain which 'subraces' these people are descended from. Skadi, The Apricity, Anthroscape, Human Biodiversity Forum - classification accounts for quite a lot of the posts in all these forums.

The assumption seems to be that, once upon a time, human beings in Europe were divided into a number of subraces or populations living in different areas - Nordics in Scandinavia, Meds in Southern Europe, Baltids in north central Europe, Atlantids in western Europe, etc. And the members of each of these subraces looked very similar, almost like clones, with the same shape of head, eyes, nose, mouth, etc. and similar colouring of hair, eyes and skin. Then, over time, all these subraces interbred and that is why present day Europeans have such varied features.

The problem is, of course, that this idea is not supported by modern science, especially population genetics - people who cluster in the same genetic groups (populations) have quite a wide variety of features, and even on a common sense level everyone knows that brothers and sisters can look nothing like each other.

But no matter how often this truth is pointed out to classification enthusiasts they earnestly continue with it as if they are doing something meaningful. Why?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Between the velvet lies, there's a truth that's hard as steel
The vision never dies, life's a never ending wheel
- R.J.Dio
Neon Knight
Neon Knight
The Castellan

Male Posts : 1423
Join date : 2017-03-05

http://castle-europa.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

Why is 'classification' so popular in anthro forums? Empty Re: Why is 'classification' so popular in anthro forums?

Post Impasible on Thu 14 Sep - 21:54

haha... I think you overestimate the motivation and culture of the average member of those kind of forums.

1,2 or 3 times participating or starting 'classification threads' I can understand it. But doing the same thing again and again... or you have something to prove that goes against general belief or something worse, like some kind of syndrome you can avoid.
Impasible
Impasible
Un caballero del castillo

Male Posts : 59
Join date : 2017-06-19

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


Permissions in this forum:
You can reply to topics in this forum