Like/Tweet/+1
Latest topics
» Now listening to . . .
by Sary Yesterday at 21:36

» What wi-fi would look like if we could see it
by OsricPearl Sun 15 Jul - 0:12

» Nationalist Artwork
by Jehan I Sat 14 Jul - 20:40

» Reincarnation
by Neon Knight Fri 13 Jul - 0:19

» Ronnie James Dio Appreciation Thread
by Neon Knight Thu 12 Jul - 21:47

» 700,000 migrants wait in Libya to cross the Med
by Neon Knight Tue 10 Jul - 23:42

» Austrian identitarians go on trial
by OsricPearl Tue 10 Jul - 20:42

» Project to put Sadiq Khan balloon over London
by Neon Knight Sun 8 Jul - 22:01

» Monty Python Scenes & Sketches
by Sary Sat 7 Jul - 23:52

» Beautiful Feminine Art
by Sary Fri 6 Jul - 1:02

» Old Film Trailers
by Neon Knight Sun 1 Jul - 22:30

» Dr. Asperger is believed to have sent many children to their deaths
by Sary Sat 30 Jun - 0:57

» Personality traits linked to political orientation
by Neon Knight Fri 29 Jun - 12:41

» I wrote a book
by OsricPearl Thu 28 Jun - 22:09

» Song Cover-Versions & Originals
by Neon Knight Tue 26 Jun - 21:58

» Does France have a wolf problem?
by OsricPearl Tue 26 Jun - 3:30

» New & Recent Film Trailers (2010 +)
by Neon Knight Sun 24 Jun - 22:16

» Fishing tribe evolved for deep water diving
by Neon Knight Sat 23 Jun - 23:20

» Favourite Film Scenes
by OsricPearl Sat 23 Jun - 22:42

» Hungary Refuses to Sign Migration Declaration
by Neon Knight Wed 20 Jun - 8:31

» Steam tells the SJW's to Stuff it.
by frankhammer Tue 19 Jun - 16:41

» New exhibition of JRR Tolkien's art in Oxford
by Sary Tue 19 Jun - 0:40

» Chinese village reclaimed by nature
by Sary Sat 16 Jun - 22:21

» 42% support for a united Ireland in Northern Ireland
by Neon Knight Fri 15 Jun - 21:04

» Austria’s Kurz wants ‘axis of willing’ against illegal migration
by OsricPearl Fri 15 Jun - 3:04

» How will morality change in future?
by OsricPearl Thu 14 Jun - 3:12

» Sharing 'hate' posts online could mean six months in prison
by Neon Knight Mon 11 Jun - 21:20

» The World Rule of Law Index
by Neon Knight Fri 8 Jun - 19:25

» Confusing Victims with Heroes
by Sary Tue 5 Jun - 22:46

» Whispering Iceland
by Neon Knight Tue 5 Jun - 0:08

» WWII re-enacment scrapped for fear of causing offence
by Neon Knight Sun 3 Jun - 16:36

» Faith J Goldy demonstrates double standard on race
by Sary Sat 2 Jun - 1:19

» Tommy Robinson
by OsricPearl Thu 31 May - 18:57

» What happens when the oil runs out?
by Neon Knight Sun 27 May - 22:44

» Quizzes android application about Europe
by Jehan I Sun 27 May - 17:51

» When is the brain fully developed?
by Neon Knight Sun 27 May - 10:56

» 'No more than 1,000 new Danish citizenships annually': DF as law change talks begin
by OsricPearl Sat 26 May - 3:33

» Huntswoman thrashes saboteur with a riding crop
by OsricPearl Tue 22 May - 14:49

» Snowflake parents changing 'politically incorrect' fairytales
by de Burgh Mon 21 May - 1:42

» Count Dankula's Court Hearings
by Neon Knight Sun 20 May - 22:43


Archaeologists uncover 'little Pompeii' in France

Reply to topic

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Archaeologists uncover 'little Pompeii' in France

Post Neon Knight on Tue 1 Aug - 21:39

https://www.thelocal.fr/20170801/france-archaeologists-uncover-little-pompeii

A "little Pompeii" is how French archaeologists are describing an entire ancient Roman neighbourhood uncovered on the outskirts of the southeastern city of Vienne, featuring remarkably preserved remains of luxury homes and public buildings.

"We're unbelievably lucky. This is undoubtedly the most exceptional excavation of a Roman site in 40 or 50 years," said Benjamin Clement, the archaeologist leading the dig on the banks of the Rhone river, about 30 kilometres (18 miles) south of Lyon. The city of Vienne -- famous for its Roman theatre and temple -- was an important hub on the route connecting northern Gaul with the Roman province of Gallia Narbonensis in southern France.

The site unearthed on land awaiting construction of a housing complex covers an area of nearly 7,000 square metres (75,000 square feet) -- an unusually large discovery in an urban area that has been labelled an "exceptional find" by the French culture ministry. The neighbourhood, which contains homes dating to the 1st century AD, is believed to have been inhabited for around 300 years before being abandoned after a series of fires.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Between the velvet lies, there's a truth that's hard as steel
The vision never dies, life's a never ending wheel
- R.J.Dio
avatar
Neon Knight
The Castellan

Male Posts : 982
Join date : 2017-03-05

http://castle-europa.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


Permissions in this forum:
You can reply to topics in this forum